The FMCSA monitors and ensures compliance with motor carrier safety (all carriers) and commercial (for-hire, non-exempt carriers) regulations. Companies may find they are subject to registration requirements for both safety (safety registration) and commercial regulation (operating authority registration). Companies subject to the safety requirements are also required to obtain a USDOT Number.

The FMCSA registration process requires that companies define the type of Motor Carrier, Broker, Intermodal Equipment Provider (IEP), Cargo Tank Facility, Shipper and/or Freight Forwarder business operation they plan to establish. The Agency administers the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSR) and Hazardous Materials Regulations (HMR) that govern interstate – and some intrastate – commercial trucking and bus industries.

This determination is based on self-classification of a company’s planned business operation using criteria such as cargo, operation, and company type. Online resources designed to help streamline the application process are also briefly reviewed.

What Are the Steps In The FMCSA Registration Process?

  1. Determine FMCSA registration needs/requirements:
  2. Complete FMCSA Application Process
  3. Determine State notification/registration requirements
  4. Begin New Entrant Safety Assurance Program
  5. Obtain permanent USDOT registration
  6. Maintain/Update USDOT Number and Operating Authority information